choco peanut butter, oh yea

I always bake for Charlie’s birthday.  He throws a grand party and so it felt like a good excuse to rejuvenate the macaroon experiment.  I feel as if I’m more than halfway there.  The texture is good, the taste is tasty…just need that pretty shape.

A couple of people have suggested that I’m over-whipping my egg whites.  And I’ve noticed that the prettiest ones are from the chocolate recipe that has more liquid in the shell batter.  So I tried both.  And one of these days I’m going to break down and actually make a template so they’re all the same size.

This was a happy journey back.  The macaroons were better shaped then most.  So, a little further experimentation should show me the path to smooth shells.  (Not very scientific to try both fixes at once…)

Peanut butter frosting as a filling was a swell addition.  I thought it was a bit sweet but that didn’t stop me from nabbing one every time I was remotely near the kitchen.  Frosting was a half batch from one of the best cakes ever; Sour Cream-Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting and Chocolate-Peanut Butter Glaze.  Huntsman’s Sky High Cakes now lives on my shelf, well thumbed and beloved but I first found it here, at Smitten Kitchen:

½ batch of Peanut Butter Frosting

5 ounces Philadelphia cream cheese, at room temperature
2 ounces unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 ½ cups icing sugar, sifted
1/3 cup smooth peanut butter

In a large bowl with an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese and butter until light and fluffy.

Gradually add the confectioners’ sugar 1 cup at a time, mixing thoroughly after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl often.

Continue to beat on medium speed until light and fluffy, 3 to 4 minutes.

Add the peanut butter and beat until thoroughly blended.

choco peanut butter

Leave a Reply

